Real Estate License Renewal and CE Requirements Extended
Editorial note: This article has been updated to include more recent information.
License renewal and continuing education requirements for real estate brokers and salespersons have been delayed 90 days, according to the Pennsylvania Department of State’s Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs.
The bureau announced the delay today as a result of the coronavirus pandemic. Renewals and continuing education requirements will now be required by Saturday, Aug. 29, 2020.
Association-owned real estate schools throughout the state have canceled and postponed continuing education classes over the past few weeks in response to Gov. Tom Wolf’s restrictions imposed to help mitigate the spread of the coronavirus.
“PAR is grateful BPOA and State Real Estate Commission recognized the unique challenges the pandemic has created for real estate licensees and has delayed the renewal period,” said PAR President Bill Festa. “We’ve been in discussions with both the bureau and the commission advocating for Realtors® in the past weeks.”
The Real Estate Licensing and Registration Act requires brokers and salespersons to complete 14 hours of commission-approved continuing education during each two-year license period. New salespersons who are renewing their licenses for the first time are required to complete a specific set of continuing education courses.
Though the deadline has been extended, licensees are still urged to complete their renewals as soon as possible. Brokers in particular should renew as soon as they can, since affiliated licensees cannot complete their application until the broker is renewed.
- Agent renewals won’t be fully processed until their broker completes their renewal.
- Update your profile. Log into the Pennsylvania Licensing System – or PALS – and make sure your information is accurate so you receive important reminders from the State Real Estate Commission.
- Missing your renewal registration code? You can request the code on the Department of State’s website.
- Do you have 14 hours of CE? Make sure you’ve earned 14 hours of continuing education, including 3.5 hours in the topics required for this renewal cycle (2 hours in advertising; 1.5 hours in property management). You should be maintaining a record of the CE that you’ve completed to provide to the State Real Estate Commission if requested.
- New agents should create an account in PALS. New licensees are required to take specific classes for their first continuing education cycle.
- Renewals must be completed online by Saturday, Aug 29. The bureau will not allow any extensions.